top of page


Two-time Goldie winner Sandra Moran (December 20, 1968–November 7, 2015) was a writer, a scholar, a mentor, and an educator. She was known and beloved for her keen intellect, her quick wit, her engaging personality, and her willingness to teach, talk, travel, and share the best and brightest of our stories and shared histories with a broad range of audiences. Sandra’s work as an author and ambassador opened countless new channels of accessibility for readers of LGBTQ fiction.


Sandra worked professionally as a newspaper journalist, a political speechwriter, an archaeological tour manager, and an adjunct professor of anthropology. She authored five notable and award-winning works of fiction: Letters Never Sent, Nudge, The Addendum, (a companion piece to Nudge), All We Lack and, State of Grace.


As a conscientious steward of her time she gave back selflessly and generously to this, and many other, communities. Her legacy is celebrated by the award of this prestigious Writing Academy scholarship established in her name.

The Sandra Moran Scholarship will be awarded each year to one student of the GCLS Writing Academy. The scholarship will cover tuition for the one year program. 

Each scholarship recipient will be expected to complete the program, as well as give back to the literary community.

Applications will be reviewed by the Sandra Moran Scholarship committee.


The scholarship recipient will be announced at the Annual Conference during the Writing Academy Graduation.


Each applicant must complete the following:

Application for admittance to the GCLS Writing Academy

Acceptance to the GCLS Writing Academy



All applications must be submitted by May 1. The committee will make a decision by June and the recipient will be announced at the GCLS annual conference in July.


If you have questions regarding the Sandra Moran Scholarship or the application process, please reach out to Director of Education Tammy Bird or Writing Academy Manager Finnian Burnett.

Click below to apply for admittance to the Writing Academy and consideration for the Sandra Moran Scholarship.

bottom of page