top of page





The Golden Crown Literary Awards are presented during our Annual Conference to recognize excellence in sapphic and women-loving-women literature. Rewarding quality literature, narration, and cover design; "The Goldies," have been a must-see event in the sapphic and WLW community each year since 2005. 

Untitled design (7).png

Ann Bannon
Popular Choice

Ann Bannon
Popular Choice

$1,000 Prize

$1,000 Prize

for top winner in each category

Erotic Novel

Debut Novel

General Fiction

Romantic Blend

Historical Fiction

Fiction Collection

Fiction Anthology

New Adult Fiction

Young Adult Fiction

General Non-Fiction

Mystery, Thriller, Crime

Science Fiction, Fantasy

Poetry, Poem Collection

Paranormal, Occult, Horror

Fiction Anthology, Collection

Contemporary Romance: Long Novel

Contemporary Romance: Short Novel

Contemporary Romance: Mid-Length Novel

A coveted achievement for authors, the Ann Bannon Award recognizes books rated by judges as of the highest quality in their categories and then voted as popular by community voters.

Since being a writer is mostly a very solitary job, winning a Goldie was a wonderful recognition of a job well done. Knowing judges and readers alike enjoy my work keeps me trying harder to write the best books I possibly can.

I'm proud, grateful and deeply honored to have been recognized with several Goldie Awards over my career. I treasure them all because I treasure the amazing GCLS community that inspired my stories and nurtured me as I wrote.

At a time when our culture is growing increasingly hostile to queer lives and queer stories, I think it’s vital to have organizations like the GCLS that not only promote queer women’s writing, but celebrate its excellence.

When I got my Goldie I was a newly published author who struggled for years to find a publisher without success. A Goldie meant acceptance by my peers. It was a high only a Nobel prize winner can describe. Even the glow in my photograph could light up a city.

The Golden Crown Literary Society would like to thank the Aronson-Besthoff Fund of the Greater New Orleans Foundation for their 5-year, $500,000 grant.
greater new orleans foundation.png
Untitled design (4).png
Since 2014, Fine Awards has partnered with GCLS to provide our Goldie winners with beautiful, quality awards. Based out of South Florida, their team has over 40 years of experience designing and manufacturing gifts and awards for Fortune 500 companies, sports franchises and charities around the world. Visit Fine Awards
GCLS has partnered with OpenWater since 2014. OpenWater is a robust, all-in-one online awards management platform that allows us to streamline and automate the submission and judging processes for the Goldie Awards. Visit OpenWater
Untitled design (6).png
bottom of page